Wednesday, 9 November 2016

Iheanacho, Obaje, others shortlisted for 2016 Nigerian Sports Award


The Orgnaisers of the annual Nigerian Sports Award (NSA) have shortlisted Super Eagles and Manchester City striker, Kelechi Iheanacho, as well as Godwin Obaje of Wikki Tourists and Chisom Egbuchulam of Rangers of Enugu for the Footballer of the Year award.

Unlike past editions of the Award, 11 categories will be contested for this time. Speaking in Lagos yesterday, the chairman of the panel, Mr. Ikeddy Isiguzo, said the award is about performance and not mere attempt or participation.

He noted that not much achievement had come from the Nigerian sports scene this year.

For the Coach of the year 2016, Coach Imama Amapakabo of Rangers, Samson Siasia of the U-23 Dream team and Are Feyisetan of Nigeria Powerlifting are the contestants, just as special sports person of the year (women) 2016 Omolayo Bose, Orji Josephine, Onye Lauritta, Ejike Lucy and Ugwunma Flora are the contestant for the Special sports person of the year (women).

Those for the Special sports person of the year (men) are Ezuruike Roland, Kehinde Paul and Nnamdi Innocent.

For the second year running, there will be no award for the best performing governor. But there are awards for journalist of the year (radio) 2016, journalist of the year (television) 2016, photo journalist of the year 2016 and journalist of the year (print) 2016.

And for the first time, the organisers have decided to give out recognition awards to deserving former sportsmen and women, as well as sports management bodies.

The prestigious Nigerian Sports Award is slated to hold on December 2, 2016, at Eko Hotel & Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos.

No comments:

DISCLAIMER: Comments on this blog are not written by the Blog owner but the opinion of the readers and the Admin shall not be responsible for any negative comment by a reader.